Skip the Homework

skipthehomework

You’ll be fine. Really, it’s not that important. You’re smart enough. 

I remember vividly in High School telling myself I could get by without doing the homework. As long as I kept my grades up, I did as little as possible. My friends and I would work on separate parts of the packets and exchange answers. I mean come on, “Ain’t nobody got time for that!” Right?

Thankfully, I joined a class that was just above head. No longer could I skip the homework or copy off of a friend. The tests were hard. The class? Calculus. Yes, I was a numbers girl. Math just made sense to me and the tests were always easy. (Now, make me do a book report and I’d be all over spark notes–how’d I start blogging?)

Easy until Calculus that is. I needed at least a B, and the first test came back… well below a B. Here was my wake up call. I had a choice to make. Rise up to the challenge and do the homework (all of it) or continue in my ways and hope to just pass the class.

Our teacher held each one of us accountable and was going to do everything in his power to see us succeed. So you can imagine I opted for the homework.

Night after night, hour after hour. I studied harder than I ever had and guess what? I finished with an A-. YES. But it’s about so much more than the grade.

Homework is about conditioning yourself. Homework is where you can truly see someone’s character. Homework is where we grow.

After school we still have homework. We see all the things we can easily ‘skip over’ to just get by. Individually, each chore we skip over doesn’t seem like such a bad thing. But they add up–sometimes quicker than we could imagine.

Maybe it’s a car, skipping an oil change. Maybe it’s in a job, not replying to a couple of emails. Maybe it’s a marriage, skipping date night. Maybe it’s in your faith, skipping on quiet time with your Bible.

Whatever IT is, homework is never a hindrance–it is a gift. When we do our homework we shine in the test. Homework is where we put in all the extra hours, blood, sweat, and tears. Why? So that the test will seem easy. We will be prepared–won’t even need that 5×7 double sided note card.

Now, more than ever, I am grateful for the challenge I received in that Senior Calculus class. Friends, when we fail a test in life we are faced with a choice–do nothing or study harder. Let’s get that late night coffee and have ourselves a study party shall we? I’ll be in the library and there’s an extra chair.

signature

This entry was posted in Encouragement, School and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Skip the Homework

  1. I am in college, and even though the amount of homework is awful, you have inspired me to keep trying hard! Thanks!

    Like

    • lightthelie says:

      You bet! I’m sure you are receiving your fair share of homework right now 🙂 But someday hopefully you’ll be able to look back and see all the areas you were able to grow in because of it! Good luck!! Maybe an extra shot of coffee or a redbull next time the homework is looking a little daunting.

      Like

  2. rolerrol says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family Emily!

    We got homework to do….arrgghh!!! 😁
    I wasn’t too fond of homework but the homework you described is better and it really pays off!!! Great point about doing homework! A great point to meditate on!!!
    God bless!

    Rolain

    Like

    • lightthelie says:

      Thank you Rolain! Happy new year to you as well! And seriously, homework has such a bad reputation… I think if we could somehow change that reputation we would benefit greatly from it! God bless you and may your week be filled with His presence.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. natasha says:

    So true when i was in school i hated homework never did it teachers always complained then when i took up photography couse it was so inspiring and i felt it was my calling i use to give my self homework assigments challengs and would be invvolved in it for house 😊

    Like

    • lightthelie says:

      Isnt it so amazing when you can actually see the reward of doing ‘homework’? Photography is beautiful and I’m so happy you found something to inspire you to go above and beyond 🙂 keep it up and you will do amazing things!

      Like

  4. Natalie Brenner says:

    Ooohhhh i like this one! Sharing. It with my girls!

    Like

  5. This perfectly described what I went through earlier this year with a class… AP Calculus. Thanks for writing this amazing post, it is nice to know somebody worked hard and got through it! Now I must study for my calculus quiz today. 🙂

    Like

  6. Lori says:

    Love this Emily! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

