Who is the Next Version of You?

nextversion

Take a look where you’ve been. Who you were. What is different about the person you are right now? Are you more patient? Do you spend your money differently? Do you think about your future more? Do you keep up with current events now? What makes you different from the person you were 5 years ago? What about the person you were 10 years ago?

Sometimes we get stuck in the mud of who we are right now. We limit ourselves by thinking, “at least I’m not as ____ as I used to be.” Welp, that’s no excuse!

In school we learn, grow, and eventually move on to the next grade. It’s not much of a surprise that the same thing is happening to us in general! Today will hand us a new set of circumstances to decipher. Something we have never gone through or heard before will mold us a little bit. Unfortunately, this has been happening without our acknowledgement and preventing the awareness of who we are becoming.

Who are you 5 years from now? What is different about that person? Are they a better listener? More involved with their family? A better gift giver? What is it that makes them the next version of you?

It’s going to take some practice before we can figure out what steps we need to take to become our future self, and we are going to mess up every once and awhile. Grace will come in handy, so make sure to keep a little extra with you at all times.

I’ll tell you what, the next version of me is more patient with a screaming toddler. She takes an extra deep breath before dealing with a tantrum. She is more thoughtful with her belongings, and less anxious about hosting a group. I might be Emily 4.0 right now, who is still valuable, but Emily 5.0 is of higher quality. I know Emily 5.0 will look back on Emily 4.0 with grace, and hopefully she’ll be getting a lesson or two from Emily 6.0.

You 2.0 is right around the corner waiting patiently. The next time we find ourselves in a situation with room to grow, can we stop to ask our future selves how we would handle it? Maybe, just maybe, we’ll upgrade a little quicker then it takes for the next iPhone version 🙂

signature

I must give credit to this idea from the outstanding Bob Goff, author of Love Does. My husband and I have heard him speak, and if you ever have the opportunity to hear him, go! You will not regret it. His book, Love Does, is also a life changing read.  

This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Who is the Next Version of You?

  1. Natalie Brenner says:

    Beautiful!! I definitely am more patient and less loud.. Ha! I have so much to grow. Thank you for writing this beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. humblygrowing says:

    I’ve read and reread this blog post a couple of times and have really thought about who I was and who I am now. I was the quiet girl, who spoke when she was spoken too. Nervous to open up in youth, Sunday School, anywhere really. I was the girl who was nervous about this new job because I didn’t know if I could do it.
    Now I’m the young women who doesn’t know how to be quiet in Sunday School. The women who loves he job and has surprised her boss with how fast she has caught on and doing a great job. I’m the women who took a step in faith and went where God led her. My word this year was Fearless, as scary as it is, I’m so glad that’s the word God gave me because it’s been a huge blessing and I’ve broken out of my shell so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

