An easy change can make a BIG difference.

IMG_0748 bw   

When was the last time someone affirmed you? We’re not talking about compliments. We’re not talking about, “I love your dress, where did you get it?!” We’re not talking about, “Nice ride.” We’re talking about the last time someone truly affirmed you. “I just want you to know that what you are doing is amazing and I support you.” Wow. How good those words are to hear.

2011-06-25_21-46-06_281

Self doubt and fear know how to stop a person dead in their tracks. Have you ever started something and had no feedback from anyone? Nobody said anything bad, but nobody said anything good either. You begin to question yourself, and doubt takes over. 

2011-03-06_18-03-25_151

Why don’t we affirm each other? Why is it not part of our daily vocabulary? So many of us are dying inside to hear we are doing a good job. That we are headed the right direction and they are there with us, supporting us. 

When was the last time YOU affirmed someone? The last time you told him he’s doing an amazing job at work and you are so proud. The last time you told her you’ve noticed her hard work and want her to know she is worth supporting. That the hard decision they made was the right one. 

DSCN0358

How often do we see someone doing something we truly appreciate, and don’t take the time to let them know. Maybe it’s the girl at the coffee shop running back and forth giving 100%. “I want to affirm you that you’re an amazing barista.” 

Can we begin to affirm one another? Instead of applauding from a distance, let’s let them know! Because you and I both know, they deserve it. Just like you deserve it! 

I may not know you personally, but I want you to know that I affirm you and I think you can change the world. 🙂 

This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to An easy change can make a BIG difference.

  1. Nishita13 says:

    Light the lie,
    I loved that name instantly.
    Easy changes are the reason why I stand here before you.
    Keep smiling. Your smile’s sublime. ❤

    Like

  2. humblygrowing says:

    Reblogged this on Humbly Growing and commented:
    This is a beautiful blog entry and so spot on!

    Like

  3. humblygrowing says:

    Shared this on Facebook! I absolutely love the words you type, they speak so much love and truth!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. beingeternal says:

    We write millions of poems and novels appreciating sun, moon, rain, night, day, seasons, foods, fashion, etc ………….that is not bad. But in a run through these, there exist some beautiful beings called HUMANS and we forget to tell how amazing they are and how marvellous their works are. Many thanks to you dear, as usual, you always remind me of something I easily forget. FYI, I do contribute my bit of “affirming” if not any other thing. Stay blessed always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lightthelie says:

      I love how you just put that. I really hadn’t even though about how easily it is to appreciate nature vs. people! Last night I went on, and on, and on about the sun and it’s redness that pulled my gaze and I could not look away! If I could only appreciate someone’s hard work as much as that. I know you are amazing, and I do not doubt one bit the amount of affirming you contribute 🙂 Thanks for making this world a little more beautiful! ❤

      Like

  5. Lori says:

    I feel strongly about encouragement and affirmation….good post. I really appreciate your thoughtful writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You are so right! How many times I think what a great job someone has done, yet don’t take the opportunity to tell or “affirm” them. I will now – thanks so much for this well put reminder. And BTW – you are doing an awesome job with sharing your thoughts and words here – I am new to your blog but find myself looking forward to reading your words. And I LOVE your pictures ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • lightthelie says:

      Thank you so much Mindy! Affirmation was a main theme with our youth group last year. Those students thrived with it! 🙂 You too are doing a great job with your blog! I’m so glad I found you. Some of my pictures were taken by brennerbirthcare.com, she also does photography 🙂 Thank you, thank you! I really appreciate your comments.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Absolutely right! Beautifully written and so simply true. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Natalie Brenner says:

    You are inspiring. You are doing such good things through this blog. It’s a beautiful ministry.

    Like

  9. Great post! I sent an affirming text message to my teenager this morning. ‘Thanks for all you help. I am proud of you and the man you are becoming. Have a great day. We are blessed!’

    Like

  10. writer dog says:

    wow! i just like your posts! write on! so informative!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

