To You, Christmas Scrooge.

Alright here it comes, I LOVE CHRISTMAS. But I’m not your typical Christmas lover. If you have checked out my instagram account, you’d see that Costco already has some Christmas decorations on sale.

Husband, Frosty, and I doing handstands

Husband, Frosty, and me doing handstands 🙂

   

I know what you’re thinking and the answer is, “Yes, of course I took the time to look–twice–before continuing to the check out!” I wasn’t sure why I was the only one down that isle, but needless to say, it gave me more room to do my happy dance.

39ee3a751d9f7f610e2a268a5104768f

Which included spinning my daughter in the oversized cart around and round. (Side note- the day my cart is filled at Costco will also be the day I know I made it. The day I become a real American. But until then, I will continue striving!)

mnes7qkovba8llmdzimq

You know what I’ve come to realize over the last 23 years of my life? Well, a lot of people are not as excited about Christmas as I am. As a matter of fact, some are completely against the whole idea until the week before. I call these people in my life “Joy Suckers,” because they TRY to suck all the joy out of my love for the holidays. They will say things like “Emily, it’s only August.” “Christmas isn’t for half a year.” “You can’t sing ‘Jingle Bells’ in January.” As if I’m actually offending them with my happiness!! 

images (2)

To those people out there wearing your scrooge mask, I will still be your friend. And every time you try to suck a little joy from my life, I will not let you. Maybe you are able to suck the joy from others, but from me, no way. Not happening.

3d4fe84470994b9f872f56b306727792817f5428f6b4afeec3b45e5877920d71

 

Did you know that no scrooge has ever thought to ask me why I love Christmas so much? No surprise there really. Well here it is, the secret behind the craziness.

 

Funny-Christmas-Memes-15

It absolutely fills my soul to the very top when the people around me are genuinely happy. It’s a time of the year I get to spend with all of the loved ones in my life. It’s a time of the year I hope to make others happy. It’s a time of the year filled with movies and popcorn, presents and smiles, thank yous and your welcomes, hugs and kisses, stories and laughs, decorations and lights, and a beautiful hope for the new year to come. Christmas does something magical to me, and I know I’m not the only one–right???

When I think about Christmas, I think about others. I think about Pintrest and all crafty ideas and decorations. I think about you, Scrooge. I think about how badly I want to make you smile. How badly I want you to feel the joy I do. 

zudin8pli9pvxq6jkkva

And most importantly, I am so thankful my God sent His Son. The true meaning of Christmas. 

Maybe what you’re enthusiastic about isn’t Christmas, but I hope there is something! While others are dreaming over jobs, or houses, you’ll find me dreaming over candy canes and christmas trees. 

We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements in life, when all that we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about. -Charles Kingsley (And oh boy, am I enthusiastic about this!)

So Scrooge, before you go sucking the joy from somebody’s happiness, please just don’t. Let them have it, let them bask in all that is joyful and happy and maybe just maybe you will find some joy in them too. 7366a91db25d7034ca975d35996c0ea8

I’ll leave you with this picture of a beautiful mug my husband made me. (Yes I know it looks like a 5 year old made it, but I promise you he did). If it were up to me, Christmas would be everyday, and no surprise… that is my life motto. 

PhotoGrid_1409686527107

 

What are you enthusiastic about? 

This entry was posted in Christmas, Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to To You, Christmas Scrooge.

  1. Lori says:

    I love Christmas too…for so many of the same reasons you mentioned. I love celebrating my Savior’s birth, I love the snow and hot chocolate, I love the blessing of giving gifts to others, I love being with loved ones…the list could go on. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lori says:

    PS. I love that pic of you guys doing handstands in the snow! Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lightthelie says:

      Christmas really is the best. You’ll have to start posting some yummy Christmas foods soon so I can practice 🙂 And thank you… saw that snowman idea on Pintrest a couple years ago… go figure haha

      Like

  3. humblygrowing says:

    Christmas is the best! Christmas Eve service, singing, celebrating Jesus, traditions, family, hot cocoa, lights, decorating, joy… How could anyone hate it?!

    Like

  4. I love the warm fuzzy feeling of Christmas! The smells, the colors, the extra time with my kids! And the baking, can’t forget the baking! I’ve been baking for fall for a few weeks now. 🙂 I start my seasons early!

    Like

    • lightthelie says:

      I think we’d get along great 🙂 anyone who loves Christmas is a friend of mine! I love the baking too… So many great excuses to eat yummy treats. Do you have any favorite recipes?

      Like

      • Most of my favorites are the traditional ones.(Especially sugar cookies) I love a traditional Christmas! Sometimes, I do traditional with a twist. 🙂 What about you?

        Like

      • lightthelie says:

        Well, as of January, I found out I have Celiacs 😦 So I am in the process of finding new yummy gluten free treats. But I think I will definitely catch myself doing some sugar cookie experiments!

        Like

      • I don’t have Celiacs, but I am sensitive to gluten! I will let you know when I post holiday recipes! Also, Betty Crocker makes great tasting gluten free cake and cookie mixes! Including a sugar cookie one:) They are a great starting place, you just need to add some tweaks and the possibilities are endless! Let me know if you have any questions about GF!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lightthelie says:

        Thank you for the info 🙂 I’m a beginner in the kitchen as it is, so having to cook GF is a little intimidating! I’m looking forward to seeing your recipes! I really appreciate it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

