Tackling Fear

Let me start off by saying I don’t know the ‘best’ or ‘right way’ to go about tackling fear. However, I would like to believe there are a few of you out there who are a little like me. (At least I hope!)

To refresh….

FEAR:

  • False
  • Evidence
  • Appearing
  • Real

 

Fear keeps us alive Never not be afraid

Like in the Croods, sometimes we live in fear because it’s the only way we know how to survive. It is a ‘safe’ zone. But fear is also what keeps us from reaching our full potential.

As I write this, fear tells me “no one cares what you have to say.” But experience tells me that there are people who need to hear this. Experience tells me that we need to light this lie.

A lot of times fear disguises itself as our ‘buddy.’ The ‘friend’ that is just looking out for us. Fear is the one stopping us from becoming something more. Fear is the one stopping us from being who we truly are. Fear is our worst-case scenario.

But hey! Life isn’t a worst-case scenario. There are also best-case scenarios and somewhere in between the two.

As an example, here are some thoughts that ran through my head while writing this post.

  • Fear (False evidence appearing real) worst-case scenario: Everyone who reads this will disagree and leave awful mean comments. They’ll judge me. I’m not a good enough writer.
  • Best-case scenario: This post is going to reach hundreds of teens and they will be encouraged to try new things. They will have a better understanding of themselves and come back and share their stories with me.
  • Somewhere in between: Probably a handful of people will read this and some will find it encouraging, and some may just not be able to connect.

When I take a step back, it is easy for me to see the worth in writing this post. Sure I can aim and hope for the best-case scenario, but I would also be thrilled with just hitting somewhere in the middle. If I can encourage one of you to make a difference, I would feel honored.

There are a lot of amazing people out there who have missed opportunities on making this world a better place because they believed fear. I don’t want to miss out on the amazing ideas you have inside that beautiful brain of yours.

Before you don’t run for student council, or enter a writing contest, or don’t try out for the team, or don’t ask her out. Before you don’t speak up against the bully, or don’t ask to sit by someone at lunch. Before you give up on yourself before you even start.

I hope that you will be able to see through fear and its mischievous ways. If you are having a hard time seeing anything other than all of the worst outcomes, please email me or post below! Let’s talk about it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tackling Fear

  1. The Anon says:

    Well written! But I think fear is also a good thing sometimes, it keeps us from doing things that may harm us. Although it’s great to tackle new things and learn something new!

    Like

    • lightthelie says:

      Thanks for reading! Yes I think it is good to have fear when it comes to things that might hurt us. Absolutely! I should have been more specific. It’s more of the social fear I’m talking about in this post. There are also fears of death/getting hurt/bad things that happen and this post doesn’t apply to that category either :/ Maybe a future post 🙂

      Like

      • The Anon says:

        No problem! No, I totally agree with it! I might have taken the meaning a bit differently. But yeah, I think teenagers should stop caring what others think about them so much and just do what makes them happy. After all, high school is just temporary.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lightthelie says:

        Absolutely! It’s a long 4 years, and then all the sudden it’s gone and over. I heard a guy say that by the time we are adults we end up not really knowing who we are anymore because we’ve been trying to fit ourselves into everyone else’s boxes of who we ‘should’ be.

        Like

      • The Anon says:

        I think society’s labels are really judgmental though some are even praised. So we look to those labels and try and fit ourselves in them because that is what we believe that everyone else believes to be deemed good.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lightthelie says:

        Oh totally! I mean even look at eating disorders. A lot of them, not all, start with society pushing that we need to look a certain way. Yes, now if we could just get away with the false reality we’ve created as nation. Keeping up with the Joneses and all.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Anon says:

        Exactly! Sometimes it’s a good thing but usually it’s us succumbing under the pressure of what society see’s as acceptable. That’s not okay.

        Like

      • lightthelie says:

        Totally! Thanks for your input and taking the time to chat. It’s definitely time for society to stop trying to create an ideal and realize the true beauty in the individual. I know there are a lot of people out there who already are doing this. So hopefully we’ll see some change 🙂

        Like

      • The Anon says:

        No problem, it was my pleasure! Hopefully there will be change 🙂

        Like

  2. betternotbroken says:

    I don’t think fear is ever “good,” I have lived in total terror. The good that people attribute to fear is what is accomplished when action is taken after fear is overcome yet this action could arguably be taken without fear or perhaps there was another route that could have been found when fear was not chosen. Fear in many cases leads to irrational behavior and adding self-harm to the mix when people suspect they are to be harmed. It is when you are calm, and you dispel the fear and act courageously anyway that you can survive and hopefully thrive. I think this blog is a timely addition to the world. Nice work.

    Like

    • lightthelie says:

      Thanks for your comment! Yes, when you put it like that I can absolutely agree. Fear shouldn’t be the reason you don’t do something that can hurt you. Fear should never make the choices. The ultimate goal would be to make calm and rational decisions.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

